Stage Fright: Lights, Camera, Inaction!!

Image

“Baton Rouge, Cindy, Baton Rouge!!”  Who remembers that old Brady Bunch episode, where Cindy freezes on camera, unable to say a word in response to quiz questions?  I always think of that before I go on camera.  Oh, thank you, Mind!

We just shot our new promotional video, and I have to admit I was a bit jittery.  Video these days is quite forgiving, rather different from the live, on-air experience.  Still, as much as I know my own talking points, there’s a sense of walking off a cliff in an act of faith when one goes on-camera to speak.

Of course, I was practicing mindfulness while I was waiting for the cameraman to set up the lights and get things just right for the interview.  I’m sure that I would have come across less confident and articulate had I not been doing so.

Actors generally know something about mindfulness, even if they don’t call it by that name.  You need to pay attention to the quality of your mind, in order to perform optimally on camera or on stage.  If you are nervous, you need to be aware of that and accepting of it, in order to do your best.

When we are gentle with ourselves, when we are compassionate with our own feelings, we can show the world who we really are.  In this business, there is no better way to advertise than to be genuine.  I may be thought naive in saying so, but I think that may be true in many other businesses as well.

Leave a comment

Filed under Leadership, Success, and the Workplace

Leave a Reply

